RSS Feed

Twelfth Night

Posted on

Twelfth Night is the night that precedes Epiphany Day, which is the day the three Wise Men visited baby Jesus. King Cakes are associated with the celebration of the Epiphany, which kicks off the Mardi Gras season, which ends Ash Wednesday, which kicks off Lent. I love Lent. It’s like a manageable New Year’s resolution time frame. I already know what I’m giving up this year, but that’s for another post on another blog.

Anyway, it’s always fun to look forward to King Cake season and Mardi Gras after the stress of Thanksgiving and Christmas. Moving so far away, I had to get creative to get my king cake fix since shipping them out here can be pretty pricey. So last year I found a recipe and tried my hand at making a few. I learned some good lessons (King Cakes, 2011), and I was pretty psyched to get going this year.

Here are my first two of the season:

king cakes

Look pretty good, right? Don’t be fooled. The bottoms are burned. Sigh. I blame the parchment paper I was using, which was not my usual parchment paper because last time I went to the store they were all out so all I could buy was Martha Stewart Foil + Parchment Paper in One. Even though it says on the box you can use it for baking, please don’t. It doesn’t lay flat in the oven, it will curl into and over your baked goodies, and apparently it will make you burn the shit out of the bottom of your king cakes. Ugh. So. Frustrated. It takes all freaking day to make those things. Arrgh.

We just taste-tested them, and they’re pretty much spot-on, except for the crunchy bottoms. I say there’s enough icing on top and cream cheese in the middle to distract you from that, so we’ll see. I hate sharing less than perfect treats, but I think my husband would kill me if I threw these away. So off to work these go. Ever try lugging around a king cake plus a gym bag to and from the gym on not one but two buses? Yeah, I’ll let you know how that goes.

Leave a Reply

