RSS Feed

King cakes – redux

Posted on

Not a super exciting post, but last week I made king cakes again. This time, brilliant baker that I am, I split the original recipe which I’ve only used in the past to make ginormous king cakes into three mini king cakes. The results were pretty good. I might never make a super giant cake again. I think two is probably the right number from that recipe. Amazing it only took me a year to figure it out.

I also made only cinnamon this time instead of filled. A few lessons learned – cinnamon was significantly lacking where the ends were brought around to make a circle, so I need to make sure to spread it all the way to the edge next time. I also put way too much filling because it oozed out all over the pan. But that just meant I got to eat a lot of gooey cinnamon filling without digging into the cake. Finally, the bottoms were still a little overdone, so I need to watch that.

IMG_1611

Yummy balls of cinnamon filling.

IMG_1613

Circles of dough

IMG_1616

Ooey gooey cinnamon filling

IMG_1619

Three little king cakes, all in a row.
(Ignore all the crap in the background. I don’t have a lot of space to work with.)

IMG_1633Baby Jesus, holding on for dear life.

I had big plans for today, but they all got thrown out the window when I had a teensy, tiny post-vacation meltdown. Oh well. My officemate will have to wait for her birthday treats, and my commemoration of being at my job for a year isn’t really worth commemorating anyway. Some other time.

Next up: funfetti cake balls for husband’s birthday. That’s always fun to do on a weekday night…

Leave a Reply

